Theme customizer
Revert customizations made in this style
What's new

When Playing League of Legends in Brazil Meant Suffering with High Ping: The 2009 Reality

syncmaster

Newbie Navigator
Reaction score
I remember it clearly: when I started playing League of Legends back in 2009. The game had just come out, and even though the graphics were simpler and the gameplay was a bit different from what I was used to, you could already feel that it had something special. But there was a big problem: I lived in Brazil, and the server was in North America. That meant the dreaded "ping" was always super high, which made a huge difference in how the game played out.

I was used to seeing my ping around 200ms, sometimes even hitting 300ms. And for those who’ve played online games, you know how much that messes things up. Every action you made had this little delay. You’d click to move your character, and it would take a few milliseconds to react. And during fights, it was even worse. Playing with this delay was like trying to run with your legs tied together. I remember playing Thresh, a champion I really like, trying to land a hook (his Q ability), but by the time I launched it, the enemy was already long gone. It was frustrating.

In teamfights, things got even more chaotic. Those moments when everyone was using their abilities at once were a mess for those of us playing with high ping. While others seemed to be playing in real time, I always felt like I was a step behind. I’d click to use my abilities, but by the time the game registered it, everything had already changed, and I couldn’t react fast enough. A lot of times, that meant losing the fight, and the frustration was real.